Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Troubled voyage in calm weather

Posted by Chris Graham 
Troubled voyage in calm weather
November 21, 2004 06:52AM
Mildly surprised to see my list of 10 Incredible String Band songs and my paean to a sequence featuring The Maytals in "The Harder They Come" subject to the censor's red card. I acknowledge that these are deeply imflammatory subjects but I can't help feeling that excluding them from the forum is taking a sledgehammer to crack a hazelnut. As a librarian, I have a professional obligation to oppose censorship; that is the librarian's equivalent of the hippocratic oath. Also, as an individual, I have an implacable objection to it. I accept that when you visit someone's house, you are duty-bound to observe the house rules but I was unaware that indicating (in perfectly civil language) one's affection for Toots singing "Sweet and Dandy" broke them. I'll get my coat.
Gordon
Re: Troubled voyage in calm weather
November 21, 2004 07:00AM
Even Penny's posts were non-offensive.

Just a dozen or so top 10 lists.

Talk about kicking a bloke when he's down.....

Respect

Gordon
Free I
November 21, 2004 07:35AM
Maybe your list was too grumpy Chris, you're in america now remember. Have a nice day y'all.
Big Bad John
November 21, 2004 08:12AM
Well said Chris, but please don't get your coat. Maybe the Mr man added something on and we did not get a chance to read it?
November 21, 2004 08:30AM
Daniel gave Penny several warnings, all of which were ignored by Penny. There's only so far that unilateral reason can go.

One love,

Rootz
Gordon
November 21, 2004 11:03AM
Rootz, Penny only posted some top 10 lists this time.

There was nothing illegal as far as I could see.

Gordon
November 21, 2004 11:54AM