Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How sandy is your butt?

Posted by Sista Irie 
How sandy is your butt?
May 10, 2006 12:52PM
I just returned from a few weeks in Jamaica. I have been visiting for thirty years and watched the evolution of tourism and all the good and bad that comes from it. I know this will not be a popular post but please keep an open mind. This is for all the people who love Jamaica, it's culture, and care about the people. There is a little place in front of Caribbean Delight where I sometimes swim. It is located between Negril Gardens and Merrill's I and it is not nearly as congested as some of the other spots on the beach. I was really stunned on this trip at how many cigarette butts are now in the beautiful sand of Negril Beach. I have been travelling to Negril since the seventies and watched the sand go from pristine to brimming with bottle caps and cigarette butts.

Every morning I would go to this one spot on the beach and pick up hundreds of cigarette butts. Some were even down on the water's edge. Then, during the day, as I sat in my chair reading, I would look up and see vacationer's on both sides flicking their butts into the sand as they got up to go into the water.

I imagine some of these people would never throw a plastic cup down, and many probably recycle at home, but there seems to be a feeling that cigarette butts are not litter. I work for the American Cancer Society and know there are more than one hundred chemicals added to tobacco to make a cigarette. I also know that butts do not easily decompose. Not to mention the sand is becoming one big ashtray. The number of butts is truly frightening and one day the beach will look like a cigarette dump. I think the attitude may also be that the hotels pick them up. They do not. They rake them into a hole in the sand where they sit until decomposition, often right near the water's edge.